CLE Information

A central focus of the Young Lawyers Section is to provide quality CLE programs that address the needs of young lawyers.  In addition to the Young Lawyers Conference held at the Annual Convention (make "annual convention" a link to the Convention page) and the New Lawyer Program, the Young Lawyers Section offers additional programs throughout the year at no-cost to our members.  These programs are offered in all areas of the state, and cover a broad range of practice areas and topics of interest to young attorneys.  Often, we work with other sections and local bar organizations to provide these quality CLE programs.


Please view our calendar to browse for upcoming CLE events.


If you would like to help plan a CLE, or have a great idea for a program or speaker, please contact This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

Join Us


Who is eligible to join KBA YLS? 

Any Kentucky lawyer who is 40 years of age or under or any Kentucky lawyer who has practiced law 10 years or less regardless of age. 

Once a year, in July, the KBA sends out the annual dues statement for the July 1—June 30 fiscal year. Dues are $20.00. All sections are listed on this notice and you can join sections on this statement as you pay your dues. 



The 2014–15 KBA YLD Executive Committee Election Results

Thank you to everyone who participated by voting in the 2014-15 KBA Young Lawyers Division Executive Committee elections!

The winners for each election are listed below.

Secretary/Treasurer:                     Eric M. Weihe

2nd District Representative:           Lauren E. Marley

5th District Representative:            Mark B. Maier

7th District Representative:            Miranda D. Click

Upcoming CLE
Legal Aid University: How Young Lawyers Can Build a Practice and Hone Skills
The KBA Young Lawyers Division and Kentucky's Legal Aid Programs are collaborating to offer this special training to young lawyers interested in learning the basics of practice areas in which Kentucky's legal aid staff offer legal assistance to thousands of low-income clients each year. Each topic presentation will offer attendees specific guidance as to court procedures, available forms, common issues, and practice tips in the areas of criminal record expungements, basic estate planning, divorce, and social security benefits.  The program is FREE to any YLD member who agrees to later take two cases from their local legal aid program, in whichever practice area the lawyer selects.  The legal aid program staff will provide mentoring and support to lawyers on these cases.  There is a $20 registration fee for anyone who is unable to volunteer their time. 
The program will be held on February 27 at the Louisville Legal Aid Society offices.  The program has been accredited in Kentucky for 5.00 CLE credits. Lunch will be provided for all attendees.  For more information and to register, please click here.

Young Lawyers Division Seeks Nominations for Annual Awards

The Young Lawyers Division seeks nominees for four Awards given annually for exceptional contributions to the legal profession and the public.  Nominations are due Friday, April 10, 2015.  


The Outstanding Young Lawyer Award honors a Kentucky attorney who has excelled in the practice of law, and community service.  Any Kentucky young lawyer is eligible for nomination.  “Young lawyer” is defined as one who, as of July 1, 2014, has been engaged in the practice of law for ten or fewer years or who is forty years old or younger.  The 2014 Outstanding Young Lawyer Award recipient was Rebekkah Bravo Rechter of Louisville, Kentucky.  For more information and to nominate a deserving individual, please click here.


The Nathaniel R. Harper Award honors a person or organization that has demonstrated a commitment to changing the face of the Bar by encouraging the inclusion of women, minorities, persons with disabilities, LGBT individuals, as well as promoting full and equal participation in the legal profession by all unrepresented or underrepresented groups.  The 2014 Nathaniel R. Harper Award recipient was A. Holland Houston of Louisville, Kentucky.  For more information and to nominate a deserving individual or organization, please click here.

The Young Lawyer Service to Community Award honors a member of the Young Lawyers Division for exemplary service to his or her community through volunteerism, service to non-profit organizations, and/or pro bono legal representation.  The 2014 Young Lawyer Service to Community Award recipient was Cara Stewart of Covington, Kentucky.  For more information and to nominate a deserving individual, please click here.

The Service to Young Lawyers Award honors a lawyer, non-lawyer, or organization for exception contributions to the professional and personal advancement and mentorship of young lawyers.  The 2014 Service to Young Lawyers Award recipient was Professor Robert Lawson of Lexington, Kentucky.  For more information and to nominate a deserving individual or organization, please click here.